Skip to content

Black History Month Events 2019

Lansing Community College is proud to present Black History Month. This year, the theme is Black Migrations.

All events are free and open to the public, some events may require advanced registration. Please read below for additional information.

Jan
27
LCC Jazz Quartet with special guest artist
Sunday, Jan. 27
4 p.m.
Dart Auditorium

 

Feb
4
Learning Circle Film Series - Time: The Kalief Browder Story
Monday, Feb. 4
12:10-2 p.m.
Gannon Building, Room 2214

 

Feb
6
Annual Community Health Fair
Wednesday, Feb. 6
10 a.m.-3 p.m.
Gannon Building, Second Floor

 

Feb
13
Black Business Expo
Wednesday, Feb. 13
7pm-9pm
Gannon Building, Second Floor

The Black Business Expo at LCC highlights a variety of black Michigan entrepreneurs. Stop by to learn more about these businesses!

Feb
14
Cornel West Presentation
Thursday, Feb. 14
10:10 a.m.-noon
Library, Third Floor

 

Feb
19
Kisma Jordan
Tuesday, Feb. 19
Noon
Dart Auditorium

Kisma Jordan in a noon recital followed by discussion of her path to this art form. Described as a “shimmering soprano voice” by the New York Times, the award-winning singer is invested in pushing the conventions of classical voice by integrating operatic and soulful sounds.

Feb
21
Malcolm X Symposium
Thursday, Feb. 21
6-8 p.m.
Gannon Conference Center, Michigan Room

 

Feb
25
Learning Circle Film Series - Time: The Kalief Browder Story
Monday, Feb. 25
12:10-2 p.m.
Gannon Building, Room 2214

 

Mar
19
Creating Poetry/Creative Resistance
Tuesday, March 19
10 a.m.-noon
Gannon Building, Room 2214

 

Mar
20
Creating Poetry/Creative Resistance
Wednesday, March 20
2-4 p.m.
Gannon Building, Room 2214

Apr
3
Learning Circle Film Series - Time: The Kalief Browder Story
Wednesday, April 3
12:10-2 p.m.
Gannon Building, Room 2214

 

Apr
17
Learning Circle Film Series - Time: The Kalief Browder Story
Wednesday, April 17
12:10-2 p.m.
Gannon Building, Room 2214

 

Student Life and Leadership at Lansing Community College

Student Life Office
Gannon Building, Room 2202
Phone: (517) 483-1285
Additional contact information »

Facebook Twitter YouTube