Skip to content

Student Advisory Committee (SAC)

Committee Charter


The purpose of this standing committee is to enhance student learning and the student experience at Lansing Community College by providing student input and advice to the Academic Senate concerning College-wide issues in order to guide the work of the Academic Senate.

Charge to the Committee

  1. Provide input to the Academic Senate on decisions that impact students.
  2. Advise the Academic Senate regarding the effect of the college's operations and policies on students.
  3. Establish effective strategies for collecting representative information on the student learning experience at LCC.
  4. Analyze and share this information with the subcommittees of the academic senate as well as the academic senate at large.
  5. Interact directly with student populations.
  6. Collaborate with Academic Senate Standing Committees to address issues that impact students.
  7. Collaborate with the Center for Engaged Inclusion, the Student Ombudsman, and the Director of Student Life.
  8. Regularly report to the Academic Senate on progress, retain committee approved meeting minutes, and maintain a representative membership.


  • The Chair must be an Academic Senator who is also a member of the faculty. A Vice-Chair, if needed, will be appointed by the Academic Senate President from amongst the membership of the committee.
  • 80% students
  • 20% college staff
  • A minimum of 2 Academic Senators. No Senator may serve on more than one standing committee per bylaws.
  • Student members from each of the following areas
    • Arts and Sciences Division
    • Health and Human Services Division
    • Technical Careers Division
    • Veteran’s Affairs
    • TRiO
  • Ex-officio Members
    • Academic Senate President per Senate Bylaws
    • Director of the Center for Engaged Inclusion
    • Student Ombudsman
    • Director of Student Life
  • A member should not miss more than 2 meetings a semester

Member and Co-Chair Selection

Will be appointed by the President of the Academic Senate.


  • A term of 1 year for students (renewable for one additional year)
  • 3 years for faculty
  • Stagger every 3 years

Student Advisory Committee Members

Christopher Manning, Chair (Faculty, currently on Sabbatical)
Center for Transitional Learning and Writing, Arts and Sciences

Megan Lin, Interim Chair (Faculty)
Center for Transitional Learning and Writing, Arts and Sciences

Matthew VanCleave (Faculty)
Philosophy and Mythology, Arts and Sciences

Tedd Sperling (Faculty)
Computer Information Technology, Technical Careers

Suzanne Sawyer (Faculty)
Academic Professional/Librarian, Academic Services

Veronica Johnson-Wilkerson (Faculty)
Center for Transitional Learning and Writing, Arts and Sciences

Christopher Smelker (Faculty)
Certified Surgical Tech, Health and Human Services

Marvin Argersinger (Faculty)
Automotive Technology, Technical Careers

Jeff Janowick (Ex-officio Faculty)
History, Arts and Sciences

Mark Kelland (Ex officio Faculty)
Psychology, Arts & Sciences / President, Academic Senate

Meeting Dates & Times

Spring 2018

March 30 - 11:30 am

April 13 - 11:30 am

April 27 - 11:30 am

May 11 - 11:30 am

Project: Student Survey 1

The purpose of this survey is to elicit student feedback concerning their experience at LCC, especially with respect to problems they've encountered as students at LCC, in order to offer objective data that can inform the academic senate's decision making processes.

Sally Welch

Sally Welch
Administration Bldg, Room 301
Phone: (517) 483-1725
Additional contact information »